The best StoryWorth alternative
StoryWorth emails one question a week and prints the answers as a hardcover book, from $59 a year with the book included. MemoriesBox records a long interview, keeps the person's own voice, and lets a family ask questions later.
Facts on this page verified
StoryWorth emails one question a week and prints the answers as a hardcover book, from $59 a year with the book included. MemoriesBox records a long interview, keeps the person's own voice, and lets a family ask questions later.
Prices below were checked on 17 August 2026 from StoryWorth's own site. They change. If you spot a stale figure, tell us at hello@memoriesbox.org and we will fix it.
What StoryWorth is
StoryWorth is a subscription that emails or texts one question a week to the person whose story you want, for a year. They reply by email, or by typing into the site, or by recording their answer over the phone. At the end of the twelve months the answers are laid out and printed as a hardcover book, which is included in the subscription price. Other family members can read answers as they arrive and add photographs. StoryWorth also produces an audiobook from phone-recorded answers, so the original audio is not thrown away.
It is the oldest and largest product of its kind, it runs about 369 indexed pages of its own, and it has spent a decade refining one idea: a question a week, and a book at the end. If you have seen exactly one service in this category advertised, it was almost certainly this one.
Why people look for an alternative
Three reasons come up repeatedly, and price is only one of them.
The first is that the weekly rhythm depends on someone replying every week for a year. If your father stops answering in week nine, you have nine answers and a book that is mostly white space. The prompt is fixed: it does not notice that the answer was interesting and ask the obvious next question.
The second is typing. A great many people over eighty write four sentences by email and would talk for forty minutes. StoryWorth's phone recording option helps, but the finished book is text, and text is what the product is optimised for.
The third is what happens afterwards. The book is beautiful and it is finished. There is no way to ask it anything. Families who set out to record a parent's voice sometimes realise, a year later, that what they have preserved is the parent's typing.
StoryWorth and MemoriesBox, side by side
| StoryWorth | MemoriesBox | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $59, $109 or $199 per year, book included | $139 / year, 14 days free |
| How it captures | One emailed or texted prompt a week | Long guided interview, many sessions |
| Keeps the original audio | Yes, for phone-recorded answers | Yes |
| Clones the person's voice | No | Yes, after about 30 minutes of recording |
| Family can ask a new question later | No | Yes |
| Printed book | Yes, included | From $139, extra |
| Languages | English | English, Russian, Ukrainian, Spanish |
| Where the data is hosted | Not disclosed | European Union |
| Export everything | Book and answers; audio export not documented | Yes, any time |
Where StoryWorth is better
The book is better than ours. It is a proper hardcover, it is included at every price including the $59 one, and a decade of production has gone into how it looks. Our book is an extra from $139, which is more than a whole year of StoryWorth.
The book is also the most durable format anyone in this category ships. It needs no login, no app, no subscription and no company still trading in 2060. Sit it on a shelf and it will be readable by a great-grandchild who has never heard of any of us. Nothing we sell has that property. StoryWorth has also been operating for around ten years, which matters more than it sounds in a market where StoryFile filed for bankruptcy and HereAfter AI's site now returns 404.
Where MemoriesBox is different
MemoriesBox is built around one long interview, conducted across many sessions over weeks, with follow-up questions that respond to the answer just given. After about 30 minutes of recording, the system builds a model of the person's voice. A voice clone is a synthetic model of a person's voice, built from recordings of that person speaking, which can then read text aloud in the same timbre and cadence. That is what makes it possible for a granddaughter to ask a question in 2041 and hear an answer, in that voice, drawn from what was actually said. Recordings are hosted in the European Union and can be exported at any time. It costs $139 a year, with the first 14 days free, and the printed book is separate.
What StoryWorth costs
| Plan | Price | What's included |
|---|---|---|
| Entry | $59 / year | A year of weekly prompts, hardcover book included |
| Middle | $109 / year | The same at a higher tier |
| Top | $199 / year | The same at the highest tier |
Checked 17 August 2026. What matters for comparison is that a printed hardcover is included at every price, which is not true of most of this category, and that the subscription is per storyteller: recording both parents means two subscriptions. We could not establish from the public pricing page what happens to stored answers if you stop paying. Ask before you buy. It is the single most useful question to put to any service here, ours included.
What none of them do
Of the eleven life-story services we compared in August 2026, none clones the storyteller's real voice and none lets the family ask a new question later. Two AI-legacy products do — Avataari, a Melbourne company that does not disclose its hosting region, and Afterlife AI, operated from New South Wales. MemoriesBox is the only one hosted in the European Union.
The eleven are listed, with prices, on the alternatives hub.
Choose StoryWorth if
- You want a printed book and the book is the point of the exercise.
- The person you are recording writes comfortably and will answer an email most weeks.
- You want to spend under $100 and still get a hardcover.
- Several relatives want to read answers as they arrive and add photographs.
- You would rather buy from a company with ten years behind it than a newer one.
Choose MemoriesBox if
- You want the voice kept as a voice, not as a transcript of what was said.
- The person will talk for an hour but will not type for ten minutes.
- You want your family to be able to ask something in fifteen years and hear an answer.
- Where the recordings are stored matters. Ours stay in the European Union.
- The family speaks English, Russian, Ukrainian or Spanish.
For balance: MemoriesBox is at version 0.4.1, has no independent review footprint, and holds no SOC 2 or ISO 27001 certification. StoryWorth has a decade of customers. If that is what you are buying, buy that.
Questions people ask
Is StoryWorth worth it?
Yes, if you want a printed book of written answers and the person will reply most weeks. It is the best-established product of its kind and the book is included at every price. It is not worth it if what you actually want is the sound of their voice, because the finished product is text.
How much does StoryWorth cost?
$59, $99 to $109, or $199 a year, checked on 17 August 2026 from StoryWorth's own site. A hardcover book is included at every tier. The subscription covers one storyteller, so two parents means two subscriptions.
Can I move my stories from StoryWorth to MemoriesBox?
Text answers and photographs can be copied across by hand, and we will help if you ask. Audio is harder: StoryWorth does not document a bulk audio export, so phone-recorded answers may have to be downloaded one at a time if they can be downloaded at all. Nothing you move across can be used to build a voice model unless the recordings themselves come with it.
Does StoryWorth keep the person's actual voice?
Partly. Answers recorded by phone are kept and can be turned into an audiobook, so the audio exists. But the voice is not modelled or cloned, the printed book is text, and there is no way to ask a question that was not answered during the year.
If you want to keep the voice itself
If the book is what you want, buy StoryWorth. If what you want is to hear them again, that needs recordings made while they can still make them, held somewhere you can get them back. That is the whole of what we do. The trial is 14 days and the first session takes about forty minutes.
Related: Remento alternative · Storii alternative · Every option, compared · What happens if we shut down · All alternatives