Try

The best Remento alternative

Remento sends weekly prompts, records the answer, and its Speech-to-Story feature rewrites it as prose for a hardcover book whose QR codes play the original audio. Remento costs $99 a year; MemoriesBox keeps the recording itself, at $139.

Facts on this page verified

Remento sends weekly prompts, records the answer, and its Speech-to-Story feature rewrites it as prose for a hardcover book whose QR codes play the original audio. Remento costs $99 a year; MemoriesBox keeps the recording itself, at $139.

Prices below were checked on 17 August 2026 from Remento's own site. They change. If you spot a stale figure, tell us at hello@memoriesbox.org and we will fix it.

Why people look for an alternative

Two complaints show up in customer accounts, and both are worth taking seriously before you buy.

The first is that the AI rewrite changes the voice. Speech-to-Story takes the spoken answer and turns it into written prose, and in doing so it edits. Customers have reported the rewritten text getting a name wrong — a husband called Richard appearing in the finished story as Grant — and answers given in the first person coming back written in the third, so that "I met her at a dance" becomes a sentence about someone else. For a keepsake, a name error in a printed book is not a small defect. It is the part the family will read aloud.

The second is what happens when the subscription lapses. Customers report losing access to their stories when they stop paying. If the point of the purchase is something your children still have in thirty years, the renewal terms are not a footnote.

We have not experienced either of these ourselves. They are reported complaints, not verdicts, and Remento has a great many satisfied customers. Read their current terms before you decide.

What Remento is

Remento is an annual subscription, $99, that includes one hardcover book. Each week a prompt goes to the storyteller, who answers by recording themselves on video or audio rather than typing. The Speech-to-Story feature converts that recording into written prose for the printed page. The book is then printed with QR codes: point a phone at the page and the original recording plays, in the person's real voice.

That QR mechanism is the smartest thing anyone in this category has built. It solves the problem every book service has, which is that a printed page cannot carry sound. Remento's page can.

Remento and MemoriesBox, side by side

Remento MemoriesBox
Price $99 / year, one hardcover included $139 / year, 14 days free
How it captures One weekly prompt, self-recorded video or audio Long guided interview, many sessions
Keeps the original audio Yes, played from a QR code in the book Yes
What the AI does to it Rewrites the answer into written prose Transcribes and indexes; the recording stays the record
Clones the person's voice No Yes, after about 30 minutes of recording
Family can ask a new question later No Yes
Printed book Yes, one included From $139, extra
Languages English English, Russian, Ukrainian, Spanish
Where the data is hosted Not disclosed European Union
Access if you stop paying Reported to be revoked Export everything, no subscription needed

Where Remento is better

Remento is $40 a year cheaper than MemoriesBox and includes a hardcover book. Buying the equivalent from us costs $139 for the subscription plus $139 for the book.

The QR-coded page is also a better answer to a real problem than anything we ship. A book on a shelf outlives every company in this category, and Remento's book carries the sound with it: no login, no account, no app, just a printed square and a phone camera. Recording yourself on video in response to a prompt is easier for most people than writing, which is why Remento's completion rate is likely better than any typing-based service. If you want an object that both reads and sounds like the person, Remento at $99 is the most direct way to get one.

Where MemoriesBox is different

The difference is what counts as the product. In Remento, the recording produces a written story and the written story is what gets printed. In MemoriesBox, the recording is the thing being kept, and text is only an index into it. Nothing is rewritten into prose, so nothing can be rewritten wrongly.

After about 30 minutes of recorded speech, MemoriesBox builds a model of the voice. A voice clone is a synthetic model of a person's voice, built from recordings of that person speaking, which can then read text aloud in the same timbre and cadence. Because the model exists, the family can ask a question in ten years and hear an answer, drawn from what the person actually said, in that voice. Every such conversation is labelled as AI, as EU AI Act Article 50 has required since 2 August 2026.

The interview runs long and across many sessions, with follow-ups that respond to the answer just given, rather than one fixed question a week.

What Remento costs

Plan Price What's included
Annual subscription $99 / year Weekly prompts, self-recorded answers, Speech-to-Story rewriting, one hardcover book
Additional books Extra Priced separately

Checked 17 August 2026. The $99 covers one storyteller and one book. Before you buy, ask Remento directly what happens to your recordings and your finished stories if you do not renew, and get the answer in writing. That is the question customers say caught them out, and it is worth asking us as well.

What none of them do

Of the eleven life-story services we compared in August 2026, none clones the storyteller's real voice and none lets the family ask a new question later. Two AI-legacy products do — Avataari, a Melbourne company that does not disclose its hosting region, and Afterlife AI, operated from New South Wales. MemoriesBox is the only one hosted in the European Union.

The eleven, with prices, are on the alternatives hub.

Choose Remento if

  • You want a printed book that plays the real voice from the page, and you want it for under $100.
  • The person will happily record themselves on video but will not type.
  • You are giving this as a gift and want a physical object to hand over.
  • Written stories, tidied and readable, are what you actually want to end up with.

Choose MemoriesBox if

  • The exact words matter to you and you do not want them rewritten.
  • You want the family to be able to ask something new in ten years.
  • You want to be able to export everything, at any time, without an active subscription.
  • Where the files live matters. Ours stay in the European Union.
  • The family speaks English, Russian, Ukrainian or Spanish.

In fairness to Remento: we are at version 0.4.1, we have no independent review record, and our book is more expensive and less refined than theirs.

Questions people ask

Is Remento worth it?

At $99 with a hardcover included and QR codes that play the real voice, yes, for a printed keepsake. Read the two reported problems first: the Speech-to-Story rewrite has been reported to change names and shift first-person answers into the third person, and access is reported to be revoked when a subscription lapses.

How much does Remento cost?

$99 a year, with one hardcover book included, checked on 17 August 2026 from Remento's own site. That covers one storyteller. Additional books are priced separately.

What happens to my Remento stories if I cancel?

Customers report losing access to their stories after a subscription lapses. Ask Remento in writing before you buy, and download anything you can while the subscription is active. With MemoriesBox you can export everything at any time, in open formats, without an active subscription — the reasoning is set out at what happens if we shut down.

Does Remento keep the person's actual voice?

Yes. The original recording is preserved and plays from a QR code printed in the book, which is the best implementation of that idea in the category. What it does not do is build a voice model, so the voice can only ever say what was recorded during the prompts.

If you want to keep the voice itself

If a book that plays is what you want, Remento does it well and does it for less. If what you want is the recording kept as the record, unrewritten, with a way to ask it something later, that is a different purchase. The trial runs 14 days.

See what MemoriesBox costs

Related: StoryWorth alternative · HeritageWhisper alternative · Every option, compared · What happens if we shut down · All alternatives