MemoriesBox vs StoryWorth
StoryWorth wins if you want a hardcover book included, from $59 a year. MemoriesBox wins if you want the voice kept, cloned and answerable later: $139 a year, hosted in the EU. Both record the person in their own words.
Facts on this page verified
StoryWorth wins if you want a hardcover book included, from $59 a year. MemoriesBox wins if you want the voice kept, cloned and answerable later: $139 a year, hosted in the EU. Both record the person in their own words.
Prices checked 17 August 2026 from each company's own site.
The short version
| MemoriesBox | StoryWorth | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $139 / year, first 14 days free | $59 / $109 / $199 per year |
| How it captures the story | A long guided interview, split across many sessions | One question by email or SMS each week |
| Original audio kept | Yes | Yes, phone recording and audiobook |
| Printed book | Not included. From $139 as a separate product | Included in every tier |
| Voice clone | Yes, after about 30 minutes of recordings | No |
| Family can ask a new question later | Yes | No |
| Languages | Four: English, Russian, Ukrainian, Spanish | Not compared here. Check their site |
| Data hosting | European Union. Data does not leave Europe | Not disclosed |
| Best for | Keeping the voice and being able to ask it something in ten years | Getting a finished hardcover on the shelf this year |
How each one actually works
StoryWorth
A question arrives once a week, by email or SMS. The person replies, in writing or by recording an answer on their phone, and the reply is stored as a chapter of a book that grows through the year. After twelve months the collected chapters are laid out and printed as a hardcover, which is included in the subscription price rather than sold separately. An audiobook can be produced from the recorded answers. The rhythm is deliberately slow and light: one prompt, one answer, one week, no session to schedule and nothing to install. None of it depends on anyone being technical. The book is the deliverable, and every part of the product points at it.
MemoriesBox
The interview is long rather than weekly. It runs across many sittings, asks follow-up questions inside a session rather than moving to a new topic each time, and the audio is the deliverable rather than a byproduct. After roughly thirty minutes of recordings there is enough material to build a voice clone, so what is kept is the person's own voice, not an AI narrator reading a transcript. Later, a question that was never put during the sessions can be asked and answered in that voice, in any of five languages. Everything is hosted in the European Union and can be exported at any time. A printed book is available separately, from $139.
What they cost
| StoryWorth | Price | What is included |
|---|---|---|
| Entry tier | $59 / year | Weekly prompts, one hardcover |
| Middle tier | $109 / year | Weekly prompts, hardcover |
| Top tier | $199 / year | Weekly prompts, hardcover |
| MemoriesBox | Price | What is included |
|---|---|---|
| Subscription | $139 / year, first 14 days free | Guided interviews, voice clone, avatar Q&A, export, EU hosting |
| Printed book | From $139 | Sold separately |
| VIP Setup | $299 one-time | We set the whole thing up for the family |
| VIP Complete | From $790 | Three to four guided conversations, run by us |
| Device | $79 one-time, ships 2027 | A box that asks a question aloud. Not shipping yet |
StoryWorth is cheaper at every comparable point, and at the entry tier it is less than half our price with a book in the box. If the total sum you want to spend is under $100 and you want something printed, this comparison is already over.
Renewal terms are the part buyers get caught by, and they are not consistently published in this category. Check what happens to your chapters, your audio and your book credit when a subscription lapses, on each company's own terms page, before you pay either of us.
Where they genuinely differ
One weekly question versus one long conversation. A prompt a week produces tidy, self-contained answers. A long interview with follow-ups produces the digressions, which is usually where the story is. Which means: StoryWorth gives you clean chapters, and MemoriesBox gives you the way the person actually talks, including the parts they did not plan to say.
Text as the destination versus audio as the destination. StoryWorth keeps recordings and can make an audiobook, but the object at the end is a printed book. MemoriesBox keeps the voice as the thing itself. Which means: in twenty years, one family has a hardcover on a shelf and the other has a recording their grandchildren can play, and a book is far easier to hand around at a funeral than a login.
A clone and a question you can ask later. StoryWorth does not build a voice model and does not let anyone ask something new. MemoriesBox does both. Which means: if your father never answered "what should I do about this job", StoryWorth has nothing to offer, and MemoriesBox will answer from what he actually said, labelled as AI, without inventing an opinion he never expressed.
Where the recordings sit. StoryWorth does not disclose a hosting country. MemoriesBox is hosted in the European Union and states it. Which means: if the person is in the EU, or you simply want to know which law applies to a recording of their voice, only one of these two answers the question.
What StoryWorth does better
Their book is better than ours today, and it is included in the price. We sell a book from $139 on top of a $139 subscription. StoryWorth includes one at $59, which is the plainest fact on this page.
StoryWorth is also the simpler thing to give to someone who does not want a project. A weekly email is a low ask. There is no AI anywhere in it, which some families specifically want, and there is nothing to explain to a parent who is suspicious of the whole idea.
Ours is a young product. The public version marker is v0.4.1. We have no published security certification, no independent review footprint anywhere, and the $79 device does not ship until 2027. StoryWorth has none of those problems.
Which to choose
Choose StoryWorth if you want a hardcover included in the price, you want to spend under $100, the person is comfortable answering an email each week, or you would rather no AI touched this at all.
Choose MemoriesBox if the voice matters more than the book, you want the family to be able to ask a question in ten years' time, the storyteller speaks Russian, Ukrainian or Spanish, or you need the recordings to stay inside the European Union.
For some people neither is right. If money is the constraint, a voice memo on any phone costs nothing and keeps the same voice. StoryCorps is free, has recorded more than 700,000 people since 2003, and its archive is held at the Library of Congress (storycorps.org/about).
Questions people ask
Is MemoriesBox or StoryWorth cheaper?
StoryWorth, at every tier. It starts at $59 a year against $139 for MemoriesBox, and the hardcover is included rather than sold from $139 separately.
Does StoryWorth keep the original recording?
Yes. Answers can be recorded by phone and an audiobook can be produced from them. What StoryWorth does not do is build a voice clone or let anyone ask a new question later.
Can you get a printed book from MemoriesBox?
Yes, from $139, bought separately from the subscription. StoryWorth includes one in every tier, and their book is the better book today.
Where does StoryWorth store your data?
StoryWorth does not disclose a hosting country on its site, checked 17 August 2026. MemoriesBox is hosted in the European Union and the recordings do not leave Europe: where your recordings actually live.
Which one works if my parent doesn't use a smartphone?
Neither, really. StoryWorth needs email or SMS and MemoriesBox needs a device with a microphone. Storii places automated phone calls to a landline for about $99 a year, and that is the honest answer to this question.
Related: MemoriesBox vs Remento · StoryWorth vs Remento · Everything compared · What happens if we shut down
If the voice is the part you care about, that is the part we built: MemoriesBox pricing, $139 a year, first 14 days free.