Try

The best life story apps in 2026

Remento is the best life story app for most families in 2026: $99 a year with a hardcover included. HeritageWhisper is cheapest at $39. MemoriesBox, sixth here, is the one that keeps and clones the voice itself.

Facts on this page verified

Remento is the best life story app for most families in 2026: $99 a year with a hardcover included. HeritageWhisper is cheapest at $39. MemoriesBox, sixth here, is the one that keeps and clones the voice itself.

Disclosure. We make MemoriesBox, which is number 6 on this list. Every price here was checked on 17 August 2026 from each company's own site, and each entry says who it is wrong for as well as who it is right for.

Prices checked 17 August 2026 from each company's own site.

The short answer

Rank Service Price Best for
1 Remento $99 / year, one hardcover included Most families. A book with the original audio inside it
2 StoryWorth $59 / $109 / $199 per year The cheapest route to a printed hardcover
3 Storii About $9.99 / month, about $99 / year A parent who does not use a smartphone
4 HeritageWhisper $39 / year The lowest price, with a live AI interviewer
5 Meminto $99 / $149 / $397 one-time People who will not pay a subscription
6 MemoriesBox $139 / year Keeping and cloning the voice, hosted in the EU
7 Willow Stories €299 first year, then €29 / year Families who want a human on the call
8 Autobiographer $99 / year, or $16 / month Someone doing it alone, on an iPhone

How we compared them

Every figure on this page comes from each company's own published pages, read on 17 August 2026. We have not run a paid year on eight products and will not claim we have. We use MemoriesBox daily, because we build it, and it is the only product here we can speak about from the inside.

Prices, hosting statements and what is included are researched, not tested. The judgements about who each product suits are ours, and follow from those published facts. Where a company does not publish something, this page says so rather than guessing. If a figure has changed, write to hello@memoriesbox.org and we will correct it and move the date.

1. Remento — best for most families

Price: $99 a year, one hardcover included Keeps the original audio: Yes. A QR code in the book plays it Hosted: Not disclosed

A prompt arrives each week. The person answers out loud rather than typing, and Remento's Speech-to-Story step turns the spoken answer into written prose for the page. The original recording is kept, and each story in the finished hardcover carries a QR code that plays it back.

That last detail is why it is first. Every other book service in this list leaves the audio in an account somewhere and the book on a shelf. Remento puts them in the same object, so a grandchild who picks the book up in 2050 can hear the voice without a password, an app, or the company still trading. At $99 with the book included, it is also cheaper than two of the products below it.

Where it falls short: the Speech-to-Story rewrite means the printed text is a rendering rather than the exact words that were spoken, which matters if you want your mother's phrasing rather than a tidy version of it. Remento does not disclose where the recordings are hosted, does not build a voice clone, and cannot answer a question that was never asked during the year.

2. StoryWorth — best for a printed book on the smallest budget

Price: $59, $109, or $199 a year, hardcover included at every tier Keeps the original audio: Yes. Phone recording, and an audiobook can be produced Hosted: Not disclosed

One question a week arrives by email or SMS. The person replies in writing or records the answer on a phone. Twelve months later the chapters are printed as a hardcover, which is included in the price rather than sold separately.

At $59 it is the cheapest way in this comparison to end up with a printed book, and it is the only product here that works well for someone who would rather write than speak. Plenty of people freeze in front of a microphone and write four fluent paragraphs in an email.

Where it falls short: three tiers are published without an obvious reason to pick the middle one, so read the checkout page first. StoryWorth does not disclose a hosting country, builds no voice clone, and answers no new question later. A weekly prompt is also too slow if someone is seriously ill, and a year is a long time when it is not available.

3. Storii — best when there is no smartphone

Price: About $9.99 a month, or about $99 a year. The annual price is not published on the site Keeps the original audio: Yes Hosted: AWS, no EU claim

The phone rings, the person hears a recorded question, they answer, and the call is recorded. No app, no account, no screen, and a landline works exactly as well as a mobile. Storii holds more than 1,000 fixed prompts, so the questions do not run out.

This solves the problem that stops most family recording projects: the person at the centre will not use the software. A ringing telephone needs no instructions. For anyone with poor eyesight or arthritic hands, it is the one here that will actually produce recordings.

Where it falls short: the annual price is not published on the site, which is a poor look in a category where trust is the product. The gift box, $59.99 on sale against a $119.99 list price, contains a card with a phone number, not hardware, and people do buy it expecting a device. The prompts are fixed, so nothing follows up on an interesting answer. There is no printed book, no clone, and no EU hosting claim.

4. HeritageWhisper — best on price

Price: $39 a year Keeps the original audio: Yes Hosted: Not disclosed. US

HeritageWhisper runs a live AI voice interviewer it calls Pearl, which adapts to what the person says rather than reading from a fixed list, and produces a digital living book. At $39 a year it is the cheapest paid product here by a distance, and it is the closest in spirit to a real interview rather than a questionnaire.

If budget is the constraint and nobody needs a printed object, start here. It costs less than a third of what we charge.

Where it falls short: there is no printed book at all, only the digital one, which rules it out as a gift for people who want something to unwrap. Hosting is not disclosed. There is no voice clone and no way to ask a question later. A live AI interviewer also unsettles some older people in a way a weekly email does not, and there is no way to know which kind of person you have until you try it.

5. Meminto — best without a subscription

Price: $99, $149 or $397, one-time Keeps the original audio: Yes. QR audio and video in the book Hosted: Germany, in the EU, with US subprocessors disclosed

Meminto combines written prompts with a phone interview and prints a hardcover with QR codes that play audio and video. You pay once. There is no renewal to forget or cancel, which for a one-off project is a different proposition from everything else here.

It is also one of the few services on this page that names a country. The company hosts in Germany and, unusually, publishes the fact that it uses US subprocessors. Disclosing an inconvenient detail is a good sign about everything else a company tells you.

Where it falls short: those US subprocessors mean this is not a clean answer for a family that needs everything kept in Europe. The three price points are for different book sizes and levels of help rather than different software, so work out which one you need before paying. No voice clone, no questions later.

6. MemoriesBox — best for keeping the voice itself

Price: $139 a year, first 14 days free. Printed book from $139 extra Keeps the original audio: Yes, and it builds a voice clone from about 30 minutes of recordings Hosted: European Union. The data does not leave Europe

This is ours, so read it with that in mind. MemoriesBox runs a long guided interview across many sittings, with follow-up questions inside a session rather than one prompt a week. After roughly thirty minutes of recordings there is enough material to build a voice clone, and the family can later ask a question that was never put during the sessions and hear an answer in that voice, in English, Russian, Ukrainian or Spanish. Everything is hosted in the EU and exportable at any time.

Of the eleven life-story services we compared in August 2026, none does that. Two AI-legacy products do, and both are hosted outside Europe.

Where it falls short: $139 a year is more than five of the products above it, and the book is a separate purchase from $139, so a book plus a year costs $278 against Remento's $99. We publish no security certification: Memory Murals publishes GCP SOC 2 and ISO 27001, Avataari publishes AES-256 and AWS, multi-region, country not disclosed, and we publish neither. We have no independent review footprint anywhere. The product is pre-1.0 and shows v0.4.1 publicly. The $79 device that asks questions aloud does not ship until 2027, which is no use to anyone this year.

7. Willow Stories — best for families who want a human involved

Price: €299 the first year, then €29 a year. Book from €79 extra Keeps the original audio: Unclear. Audio preservation is not stated Hosted: Servers in the EU, Vienna

Willow runs guided interviews with a human Willow Guide on the call, and sells through funeral homes as well as directly. A real person asking the questions is a different experience from any software here, and often a better one. Renewal is €29 after the first year.

Where it falls short: €299 in year one is the highest entry price on this list, and the book is another €79 at least. More importantly, whether the original audio is preserved is not stated on the site, and for a service built on recorded interviews that is the one question that should be answered on the pricing page. Ask before you pay.

8. Autobiographer — best for someone doing it alone

Price: $99 a year, or $16 a month on the App Store Keeps the original audio: Yes Hosted: Not disclosed

An iOS app that holds AI audio conversations and turns them into a written biography. It is designed for the person telling the story rather than the relative organising it, which suits someone who would rather do this privately than be managed through it.

Where it falls short: iOS only, so an Android household is out entirely. There is no printed book, no voice clone, and no disclosed hosting. It also assumes the storyteller is comfortable enough with an iPhone to open an app and talk to it, which is exactly the assumption that leaves most of these projects unfinished.

Also considered, not ranked

Service Price Why it is not in the ranking
Simirity Free / $6 / $9 per month A private family journal. No interview, no book
LifeTales About $239.88 a year More expensive than everything ranked above, book from $69 extra
trylifestory $595 one-time A single human video interview. A different purchase entirely
Memoirji Not published Voice in, text out. The audio is not preserved
Avataari Free / $10 / $100 credits Clone and avatar Q&A, but AWS, multi-region, country not disclosed and no EU claim
Afterlife AI Free / $14.99 / $29.99 per month Conversational Q&A, operated from Australia
StoryFile Not published, quote only Filed for Chapter 11 in May 2024. Institutional
Seance AI Free / $19.99 Built from a survivor's description. States it is for entertainment
HereAfter AI Was $3.99–$7.99 per month The site returns 404 on every path. Do not buy

What none of them do

Of the eleven life-story services we compared in August 2026, none clones the storyteller's real voice and none lets the family ask a new question later. Two AI-legacy products do: Avataari, a Melbourne company that does not disclose its hosting region, and Afterlife AI, operated from New South Wales.

Only three of the eight products ranked above name a country where the recordings sit: Meminto, Willow Stories and MemoriesBox. That is not an accusation of anything. It is a description of what is published, and it is the detail that decides which law applies to a recording of your father's voice.

That is the state of the category on 17 August 2026. It will change, and when it does this page changes.

What to do if you want to spend nothing

Open the voice recorder already on your phone. Sit down with the person. Ask about the year they turned twenty, then ask what happened next. That is the whole method, and every product here is a way of making it more likely to happen.

StoryCorps is free, has recorded more than 700,000 people since 2003, and its archive is held at the Library of Congress (storycorps.org/about). It is the best free option in existence and we would rather you used it than bought nothing.

If there is already a voicemail from the person on your phone, save it properly today, before the carrier deletes it: how to save a voicemail forever.

Questions people ask

What is the best app to record a life story?

Remento, for most families: $99 a year, one hardcover included, and a QR code in the book that plays the original recording. HeritageWhisper at $39 is the cheapest, and Storii is the only one that works on a landline.

What is the cheapest way to record a parent's life story?

Free. Use the voice recorder already on any phone, or StoryCorps. The cheapest paid product here is HeritageWhisper at $39 a year.

Which one works if they don't use a smartphone?

Storii. It telephones the person, a landline works, and they need no app, no account and no screen. Its gift box contains a card with a phone number rather than a device.

Which of these keeps the actual voice rather than a transcript?

Remento, StoryWorth, Storii, Meminto, HeritageWhisper, Autobiographer and MemoriesBox all keep the original audio. Memoirji is the clear exception: voice goes in, text comes out, and the recording is not preserved. Only MemoriesBox builds a voice clone from what was recorded.

What happens to the recordings if the company closes?

This has already happened repeatedly. StoryFile filed for Chapter 11 in May 2024, owing $150,000 in customer refunds. HereAfter AI's site now returns 404 on every path and its app has not been updated since September 2023. MyHeritage confirmed DeepStory’s discontinuation in an August 2025 notice; users reported it had stopped accepting new creations by July 2025. Before paying anyone, including us, find the export button and use it once: what happens if we shut down.

Related: The best StoryWorth alternatives · The best ways to record a parent's voice · Everything compared, side by side · What happens if we shut down